Manual: 2011/2012 Boxster

Page: 135

Canceling a block

You cancel all previously set detours by selecting "Cancel block".
The icon is no longer displayed and a new route is calculated.

  1. Press the button.
  2. Press the button or touch the tab of the same name in the header.
  3. Select "Route options"
    > "Detour"
    > "Cancel block".
    All blocks are canceled.

Setting a short/quick route

These two route options allow you to influence how the route is calculated.
You can set or change the route options before the route is calculated or during route guidance.

  1. Press the button.
  2. Press the button or touch the tab of the same name in the header.
  3. Select "Route options".
  4. Activate or deactivate the desired route option by selecting it.
    Short route
    Calculates the shortest route to the destination.
    Quick route
    Calculates the fastest route to the destination.

Setting dynamic route planning (XM NavTraffic)

If you have activated dynamic route planning, the traffic messages broadcast by the provider XM Satellite Radio are taken into consideration when calculating the route.
To find out more about traffic messages, please refer to the section "Displaying traffic messages (XM NavTraffic)" on page 98.

  1. Press the button.
  2. Press the button or touch the tab of the same name in the header.
  3. Select "Route options".
  4. Select "Dynamic reroute" to activate ( ) or deactivate ( ) the function.

Avoiding a stretch of road

Selecting "Avoid" allows you to set restrictions for route planning.
If a restriction is activated ( ), the PCM calculates a route without this type of road.
If route planning is not possible with the restriction you have set, you are informed of this in an appropriate message.

  1. Press the button.
  2. Press the button or touch the tab of the same name in the header.
  3. Select "Route options"
    > "Avoid".
    The following menu items are then available for you to select:
    "Toll" ,
    "Freeway" ,
    "Ferry / Car train" , and
    "Tunnel".
  4. Select the respective menu items to activate ( ) or deactivate ( ) the function.
    The route is recalculated.